A glimpse of November

Standard

As you may remember, yesterday I was talking about using The Sims to get character appearances sussed out in your head, and the corresponding danger of spending hours playing with said characters rather than writing them.

Well, once I’d published that post, I headed over to try out the The Sims 4 Create-A-Sim Demo. In the demo version, you can only make young adults, and it’s a bit limiting compared to the freedom of The Sims 3 in terms of clothing etc. (especially when you’re used to a couple of expansion packs) and you can’t actually play with the characters (also, exporting pictures of them is a bit hit-and-miss).

That’s actually really handy, because you can fine-tune your characters’ appearances and not be distracted by building them houses and getting them jobs – I don’t have The Sims 4 itself, and will have to save up for a while.

Unfortunately, though, there’s not a lot more planning for me to do on this year’s NaNo novel – I rarely plan at all, so this is a real unprecedented event for me – so when I ran out of characters to create (at least from the present-day portion of the story) I found myself making a couple of promotional images for a novel I haven’t even started writing yet…

Promo

Yes, it’s deliberately hard to read – it’s only a very early teaser, after all.

So the plan for October – which I’d set aside as planning month – is to tweak The Perfect Garden a bit more while I’m waiting for the beta readers to get back to me, and then write some short stories. I’m between jobs at the moment, so with a lot of free time I get bored quite easily and write a lot. The catch is that, due to a lot of NaNo experience, I’ve taken to writing very fast (about 1000 words per half hour is by no means unheard of for me) so despite time for editing, I end up churning out a lot of material very quickly. I’d be tempted to write a novel in October and then another in November, but I don’t want to burn myself out.

I’m going to try a collection of short stories instead, and probably a few will make their way to this blog. I might also have a go at finishing the ridiculous sci-fi I started in NaNo 2011, because I’ve abandoned that for far too long.

So, those are my plans… and then bring on NaNo 2014!

Leave a Reply

