Putting off planning…

Standard

…by planning.

I was supposed to be working on my revolution again today (and I have, a little) but I was feeling a bit restless and wanted to do something more visual. The result was a wall-chart for NaNo, which I’m posting in case anyone wants to use it. It’s designed to be printed in black and white and coloured in, but I suppose you could use the graphics program of your choice to print it in colour.

Image created by Eleanor Musgrove (not affiliated with NaNoWriMo), who grants permission to use it for anything that doesn't make you a direct profit. Credit and/or a link back to this post would also be appreciated!

Image created by Eleanor Musgrove (not affiliated with NaNoWriMo), who grants permission to use it for anything that doesn’t make you a direct profit. Credit and/or a link back to this post would also be appreciated!

I love all the progress bars and stats on the NaNo website, but I also have a child-like fondness for physically writing on things, crossing things off, and stickers. I have my eye on some red, yellow, and green dotty ones to put over the date (designating ‘all targets met’ ‘one target [either daily goal or overall goal for the day] met’, or ‘targets not met’. It sounds harsh, but it does mean I can see at a glance that I’ve achieved my goals, or, if I’ve missed a few days, that that’s not the end of the world. I intend to win again this year, and it’s good to remember that a few stumbles and obstacles along the way don’t mean disaster.

In my first NaNo, I got about six days in and had fallen behind a few thousand words. I gave up that year. During Camp NaNo in July this year, I had to take a couple of days out for events such as my graduation ceremony and a family funeral, but I still wrote 68004 words during the course of the month.

In life as well as writing, a momentary setback doesn’t have to mean the end of your ambition. Remember that if you ever feel like you’re failing before you’ve finished. You can claw it back.

Right – I’m off to carry on planning my novel’s history. Talk to you tomorrow!

2 thoughts on “Putting off planning…

  1. Thank you! It’s a bit hard to read, perhaps, at first glance – too many lines! – but I like the idea of being able to go offline and still know how I’m doing – I’ll even be able to see it from my bed when I wake up. Hopefully it’ll help me feel productive!

    Like

Leave a Reply

