From fictional history to family history

Standard

Yes, yes, I know. I am a terrible procrastinating author who should be planning out the novel she’s starting in… what, 20 days or so? Today, though, I watched Twiggy’s episode of Who Do You Think You Are? and it got me thinking about my own family history.

One of my great-great-grandfathers was held in an internment camp in the First World War, because his father was German (and, I’m fairly certain, deceased by that point). I’ve been trying to find out more about the internment camps – not least because I was writing ‘Inside‘, which is set in one – but tonight I went a bit further back to my great-great-great-grandfather, who made the move from Fritzlar to London in the first place.

A postcard of Fritzlar from 1846, the year my great-great-great-grandfather was born.

The picture above was a nice find, as it’s from the year and the town in which my great-great-great-grandfather was born.

I’ve also ordered a book on the internment camps his son found himself in, which should arrive far enough in advance of November not to interfere with my writing.

It’s sometimes nice to step away from fictional narratives and look at how real historical narratives slot together, especially when you have a personal connection. If anyone knows of any interesting ancestors you have yourselves, feel free to let me know in the comments – I always love a good story!

Tomorrow, however, I really must keep planning. I’ll talk to you then!

Leave a Reply

