A favour to ask

Standard

Hello, blog readers.

I’ve always been really lucky in that I was encouraged to write stories from my earliest time at school and even before. There are lots of people, though, who are never really told that they can write, and that it is a realistic possibility for them to write a novel. That’s one of the reasons I love NaNoWriMo so much (for more reasons click here) – it gives people that boost and that confidence. Through the Young Writers’ Programme, it also funds education in creative writing for the children who just might grow up to be the next generation of great novelists. But the people at NaNoWriMo can’t do that alone.

If you visit my NaNoWriMo profile, you’ll see that I already have my donor halo for this year, meaning that I’ve already donated to the cause. However, this year I want to go a little bit further, as a thank-you for the complete novel(!) I now have in my possession thanks to last year’s NaNo events. I don’t have a lot of money, which is why I’m asking for help. I hate asking anyone for money, but for a good cause I’m prepared to swallow my pride.

I’m asking for people to sponsor my novel this year. I don’t expect anyone to give very much, and I definitely don’t want anyone giving more than they can afford, but it would mean a lot to me to have your support in this fundraising effort. On my part, it’s great motivation and will really spur me on to write as many words as I can this November (which could end up being truly ridiculous if I’m trying for 50k in 5-10 days). For the Office of Letters and Light, any little contribution means the opportunity to encourage more writers and help to bring some fresh literary creativity into the world.

My fundraising goal is $250 (which is just over £150), but I’d be really happy for any donation, however big or small. I’ll link to the page a couple of times while I’m actually writing, but I’ll try not to go on about it after this. I don’t want anyone to feel pressured to contribute.

Thanks for reading this far, and I promise to be back to normal blogging tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

