NaNoWriMo – Day One

Standard

I started writing Cold Light – finally – at midnight today. By 1am, I had reached (and slightly exceeded) the standard word count target for day one – 1667 words. Then I went to bed, got up again eight or so hours later, and wrote some more. I had about 3100 words by the time my sister and I went to pick up lunch (fish and chips, bliss) and then, after a lot of being distracted by the telly and then some writing in the quiet of an empty room, I called it quits for the day at 5162 words (just over par for day three).

This may sound like empty bragging, but I have a reason to try to get ahead. A friend in my writing group is attempting to write 50k in 5 days, and in a moment of madness a few weeks ago I said I’d join her and try to write 50k in 10 days. Earlier, when I mentioned this intention to another friend, he offered to add some money to my sponsorship drive (in aid of future NaNoWriMo events helping future novelists) if I could pull it off.

I don’t like to sound as if I’m trying to swindle my friend out of money, but my sponsorship drive isn’t getting a lot of interest so I practically bit his hand off. I really appreciate NaNoWriMo and all that it’s done for me (I have a finished novel in third-draft stage, for goodness’ sake, and more in progress, and that would never have happened without NaNo), and I really believe in the difference it can make to kids like me who gradually got talked out of the idea that their stories could mean anything or that they could really be writers, and to adults like me who believed that their writing dreams were unrealistic or had to wait. I’ve set my fundraising goal to $25, and I’d like to hope that’s achievable, but I’m determined to get as much money together to support that cause as possible, and if that means writing 50 000 words in 10 days… I’ll do that.

I hope I can do it, and I really don’t know if I’ll be able to, but if there’s one thing years of NaNoWriMo have taught me, it’s that you never know what you can achieve until you try. I intend to try.

See you tomorrow, readers (and if you’re taking part in NaNoWriMo, let me know how it’s going in the comments!)

7 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo – Day One

  1. It’s my first time on NaNoWriMo and I have just finished at 3162 words. Thought I would be tired but my mind is buzzing. Just hope I can get to 50k and achieve what I thought was impossible. Good luck to you 🙂

    Like

    • That’s a great first day, well done! I’m sure you’ll make it to 50k, you learn to type faster and ignore your inner editor more as the month goes on, so as long as you can grit your teeth and work through the moment in the middle when you start wondering if it’s worth it, you’ll be fine! Best of luck!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

