NaNoWriMo – Day 20

Standard

I’m still a bit under the weather today, so I spent a fair portion of the day asleep. However, I have managed to write 1956 words today, bringing my total to 37160 so far this month. I’m pleased with myself (especially as so much of that – 917 words – was achieved in the space of about 22 minutes on Write or Die). I feel like I’d use that much more effectively if I didn’t keep putting off clicking ‘Write!’.

Yesterday, November 18th, marked the one-year anniversary of my NaNo13 win (though by no means the end of the novel). I had been hoping to complete this challenge by the same date this year, but sometimes it’s just not possible. I’m happy with my progress, especially since I’m writing in a genre I’m not as familiar or comfortable with. This month is about trying new things, committing to my writing, and challenging myself. It’s not a race, and today I’m reminded of that. It’s a bit of a relief, honestly, to take that pressure off of myself. Goodness knows how I’d be feeling right now if I hadn’t let the idea of 50k in 5 days go!

Writing, for me, is a sanctuary. It’s an escape, it takes my mind off of things, and it’s something productive that I can do even when I’m not feeling very well (usually). That’s the important thing, and if rushing is going to destroy that, I’ll choose to slow down rather than pushing on and making myself stressed and miserable. I have enough things trying to do that as it is!

Until tomorrow, readers!

Leave a Reply

