NaNoWriMo – Day 21

Standard

Today I’ve written 2597 words – I was going to go for 3k but I’m calling it quits now to watch some TV – bringing me up to 42709 words overall. I’m pretty happy with that!

In extra-curricular activities – well, sort of – I’ve been thinking about giving self-publishing a go for this little novel (Cold Light) after all. I’m thinking of making it available as an eBook, especially since there’s a general demand for stories with non-binary characters on several social media platforms I use, and my story happens to have one. Making it into an eBook seems like a good way to make it accessible, and quickly.

With that in mind, I’ve been looking at Smashwords and BookTango, two eBook companies that can help you make and distribute your eBook through some big distributors. Smashwords takes a commission, but BookTango claims you get 100% of the royalties, so I’m not sure where they’re making their money and that makes me a bit wary.

What I’d like to know, really, is whether anyone has used either of these companies in the past and if so, how it went? I’m based in the UK, so the experiences of anyone else based outside the US would be especially helpful.

Until tomorrow, everybody!

Leave a Reply

