2015: The Year Ahead

Standard

Alright, my bad – I forgot to say ‘Happy New Year’ yesterday. So, happy New Year, and I hope you saw it in enjoyably. While I’m on the subject, and in an attempt to force myself to get used to there being a 5 on the end of the year now, I thought I’d talk through a few things I’m looking forward to over the coming months, and some of my plans.

  • Caladria will be publishing its first issue of ‘Fab Fables’ at the end of January –  none of my stories are in it due to the timing of my joining the team, but it promises to be a great issue and I’ll certainly be reading it. Later on, I’ll have some stories in subsequent issues!
  • A Pride of Poppies is due for release in May, and will feature two of my short stories. I’m really excited about this one, and it means a lot to me. I can’t wait to read everyone else’s contributions!
  • The Cold Light of Day – I have no guarantees or promises about this story, but I do hope that, as it’s a stand-alone novella, I’ll be able to get it tidied up and out into the world somehow by the end of 2015. This is likely to be in eBook form. There is a chance that I’ll decide to keep this back until after The Perfect Garden is sorted out, however, as TPG will always be my first completed novel and it would be nice to get that published first.
  • The Perfect Garden series is one of those firing-on-all-cylinders projects with a lot of tasks to juggle. I’d like to get Blooms of Summer  (book 2 of the series) finished by November, and hopefully write Fruits of Autumn (book 3) for this year’s NaNoWriMo. In the meantime, I also want to send Buds of Spring (book 1) off to a couple of agents, at the very least, and see if I can get the ball rolling on publication. I don’t intend to do that until Blooms of Summer is at least nearing completion, however, to give me a bit of a buffer if I end up with a contract for speedy delivery of the rest of the books.
  • And in my personal life… I’d like to be earning money by the end of the year. I’m currently signed off as ‘unfit to work’ due to post-traumatic problems, but this year I hope to continue on the road to recovery and get back into work. It’s possible that I won’t be ready for the 9-to-5 – or just won’t be able to get a job – by the end of the year (I hope this isn’t the case, but I can’t be sure) so I’m also going to be working hard on trying to write things I can sell.

I’m not making resolutions this year, except to keep building on what I’ve achieved in 2014 and before. Have a lovely 2014, readers, and I’ll talk to you tomorrow.

2 thoughts on “2015: The Year Ahead

Leave a Reply

