A bad day

Standard

Today, for various reasons, I’ve only managed to bash out about a quarter of my daily target. I was beating myself up about it and trying to force more words out, but then my sister told me to stop being an idiot for the following reasons:

  1. 250 words is still a fair bit of writing and I should be celebrating the words I have written rather than lamenting those I haven’t, and
  2. If it’s not flowing and I try too hard to force it, the results will be frankly terrible.

OK, that last one could be ironed out in editing but the whole flow of my writing tends to take a bad turn if I force the bit beforehand. So, since my sister is very wise (and I’m ahead of my target for this month at the moment), I’m calling it a night and going to do some (fanfic) reading. Having a target is great for keeping me writing every day, but I need to stop obsessively trying to meet them. Some days, it just doesn’t happen the way you want it to… and I’m learning to be OK with that. The important thing is sitting down and giving it a go as often as I can.

Today’s word count: 251 words.
2015 word count so far: 7290 words.

Talk to you tomorrow, readers!

2 thoughts on “A bad day

  1. I think it’s good to be aware of when you are forcing yourself and not letting that target word count get to you. It’s not easy to do, and it’s something I’m still trying to learn to deal with myself.

    (Though I still can’t get over how many words you’ve already written this year!)

    Like

    • Yeah, it’s something I’m working on. I still feel a little guilty when I don’t do as much as I’d like, but I just have to try to remind myself that outside of November, quality trumps quantity, and that I do have other things to do too!

      (Nor can I. I was trying to get a buffer going for when I inevitably start slacking off or getting swamped with non-writing things. Wasn’t expecting that to happen so quickly!)

      Like

Leave a Reply

