Editing… and rewrites

Standard

Hello, everyone!

I’ve been looking through the first draft of a manuscript I wrote almost a year ago, and gods, that needs editing. By editing, I actually mean rewriting. Don’t get me wrong, the basic structure is there and there are some little snippets I really like – but most of it is very obviously my initial attempt to work out where the story was going as I went.

The good news, of course, is that I now have a better idea of what needs to happen and when – and my writing has improved over the last year, too. The bad news is that it’s a sequel, and things have changed in the preceding story that are now incompatible with this (awful) draft, so I’ll have to be very careful as I rewrite it not to copy those inconsistencies across!

Talk to you soon!

Leave a Reply

