New Year’s Resolutions

Standard

Hi everyone,

Well, I’ve got some resolutions this year, one of which is to post on this blog more regularly. So let’s call Friday the day, and I’ll try to stick to it.

The other writing-related resolution I made was to write at least 500 words a day (I’m prepared to take an average of 500/day but I’d ideally like to do it on a day-by-day basis). So far, we’re nearly a week in and I’m doing quite well with it. In fact, I’ve written 4586 words of original fiction since the start of 2017!

My original plan was to work on one project, see it through and then go onto the next, but I have a short attention span and my current main project is a redraft (which I find less exciting than a first draft). So I’ve decided that 6 days of the week will be dedicated to one project, and then I’m going to start #ThinkAboutSomethingElseThursdays – a nonsensical and pointless hashtag I’ve made to try to remind myself to stick to my schedule! But the important thing is that I’ll be taking Thursdays to work on another project.

For example, I’m currently redrafting Sprawl, which is a sequel to Submerge I hope will make it to you at some point. But yesterday was devoted to An Englishman’s Home, my NaNoWriMo novel of 2016. It helps to shake things up a bit so I don’t burn out.

Among all that, I’m also working on licensing a paperback edition of Submerge through Manifold Press and CreateSpace. The proof will be on its way soon, so that’s very exciting for me. I will, of course, share any news with you as it comes!

Well, that’s about it for me this week. Feel free to comment and let me know what you’ve been up to in the first six days of 2017.

Talk to you next Friday!

2 thoughts on “New Year’s Resolutions

Leave a Reply

