A week of few words

Standard

Hi everyone,

I’ve written relatively little this week – 3861 words, mostly fanfiction – but I’ve been working pretty hard on some world-building for A King’s Ransom and working out some projects I want to get back to. Was I running this blog yet when I started writing The Cold Light of Day? I think I was. I always meant to get back to it, and then life got in the way, but I’m bringing it back into my rotation of WIPs.

I’m also going to set about learning the tricks of self-publishing, partly because those will be useful transferable skills and partly because it might allow me to put out new releases more often. We’ll see how that goes.

Talk to you soon!

2 thoughts on “A week of few words

  1. Laura

    You always have so much on the go! Really wish I could juggle so many things at once.

    Can’t believe you’ve got your first novel published. All the hard work has paid off! What’s your experience of self-publishing vs. using a publishing house so far? I’m just starting to look at publishing and advice from someone more experienced would be greatly appreciated! In particular, what part of the publishing process do you feel was slowing you down that’s made you look into self-publishing?

    Like

    • I can’t say I’ve had any real experience of self-publishing – which is going to make it a big adventure – but being published through Manifold has been wonderful. There are only so many release slots in a given year, though, so I feel like if I increase my output, I can put things out faster if I self-publish alongside a traditional publishing system. There’ll still be a long process of editing and formatting, but there won’t be so much of a queue to get it all done. Of course, I need to get to work on my writing, first! I’ve got a lot of projects going and very little finished.

      Good luck on your publishing journey – read any contracts carefully and let me know how it goes for you!

      Like

Leave a Reply

